Aigion, known during the middle ages as Vostitsa, is the principal town of the district of Aegialeia, having a small, but commercially active harbor. In antiquity the city was a member of the Achaean League, and was for some time even the cult centre of the League, where the delegates of the members of the League met. When the crusaders conquered Greece in the 13th century, Aigion was given to Hughues Lille de Charpigny under the name of  “barony of La Vostitsa”. In 1458 the city surrendered to the Turks to remain under their control until 1821 (apart from a very short period of Venetian rule). Severe earthquakes in 1819 and 1888 have virtually destroyed the old city. The town of Aigio figures prominently in the film O Thiasos (the Band) by Angelopoulos.
Of the antiquities in Aigio most important is the collection of finds from the surrounding territory in the archaeological museum. Prominent among these finds is a superbly executed statue of a young man, who must be an unknown heros, as he wears around his chest the aigis, a goatskin fringed by snakes with the head of Medusa in the middle; usually the aegis is associated with Zeus or Athena. Probably this heros depicts the legendary founding hero of Aigio. The remains of a Mycenaean cemetery make clear that Aigio had a very long history, but most other antiquities are rather obscure, although the “rich well” at the coast, already mentioned by Pausanias, still flows.
The centre of the modern town is quite charming, although the suburbs aren’t. The pebble beach to the east of the harbor is frequented mostly by Greek families in summer, who want to avoid the crowded beach some kilometre’s west of Aigio. Unfortunately, one of the easiest routes to Delphi, by ferryboat from Aigio has disappeared again, as the city council has taken the ferry off line. This is especially unfortunate, as the road via the bridge of Rhion is at least 2 hours longer than the shortcut over Aigio.

In the fall, ity is not only still good beach-weather, there are also countless newcomers to admire, who are foraging in large numbers.

Aghia Tripiti

When visiting Aigio it is worthwhile to visit the church of the Panaghia Trypiti, lying close to the sea in a small cave which may be reached by descending a staircase with 150 steps. According to legend, a victim of a shipwreck on the gulf of Corinth was led to this cave during the storm which destroyed his ship by a clear light shining over sea. When he arrived there, he found a miraculous icon of the virgin Mary.


          Even better is the monastery of the Taxiarchs, the archangels Gabriel and Michael, lying at a distance of some 13 km. from Aigio. This monastery was originally founded in 1430 high up under an overhanging cliff. In the 17th century the monastery moved lower down. The old monastery may still be visited, lying at a distance of 1 hour on foot from the new monastery, or a short ride up with a 4WD. You will find there a.o. the grave of saint Leontios, the founder of the monastery, but also a fine little chapel with elegant frescoes. In the new monastery you will also see a charming church, but besides a small museum with religious articles, mediaeval manuscripts and reliquaries from various saints.